Amit selected as a finalist in the 2020 IEEE APS/URSI Student Paper Competition

M. Sc. student Amit Shaham was selected as a finalist in the 2020 IEEE APS/URSI Student Paper Competition for his paper “Plane-Wave Scattering off Sinusoidally-Modulated Metasurfaces with Normal Susceptibilities”.

Way to go, Amit!

This is the second time in a row that a student from our group appears in the finals (top 10) for this symposoium, with M. Sc. student Liran Biniashvili participating in the 2019 IEEE APS/URSI finals in Atlanta, GA.

PRB Paper Published (19-Sep-2019)

Our paper “Fabry-Pérot Huygens’ metasurfaces: On homogenization of electrically thick composites” by Dr. Sherman W. Marcus (Research Associate) and A. Epstein,  has been published in the Physical Review B. The paper proposes a new physical structure to realize Huygens’ metasurfaces, relying on a symmetric cascade of two Fabry-Pérot etalons to construct the unit cells (meta-atoms). Due to the simplicity of the meta-atom configuration, the synthesis procedure can be done efficiently using a textbook analytical model. Remarkably, despite being electrically thick, the proposed geometry is shown to exactly reproduce the response of an abstract Huygens’ metasurface (represented by abstract boundary conditions – the GSTCs) implementing anomalous refraction. Using a detailed Floquet-Bloch formulation, the scattering from an arbitrary oblique angle of incidence is analyzed, yielding closed-form expressions for the dominant reflection and transmission, highlighting the robust emulation of the abstract boundary conditions by the Fabry-Pérot Huygens’ metasurfaces. We expect that these analytically designed structures would be very useful in practical demonstrations of intricate metasurface-based devices, whose complicated synthesis procedures posed challenges in terms of realization.

Vinay wins Young Scientist Best Paper Award in 2019 ICEAA IEEE-AWPC

Dr. Vinay Kumar Killamsetty, a postdoctoral fellow in our group, has been awarded the Young Scientist Best Paper Award in the International Conference on Electromagnetics in Advanced Applications (ICEAA 2019) and IEEE-APS Topical Conference on Antennas and Propagation in Wireless Communications (APWC 2019) joint conference, held in Granada, Spain, on September.

The prize was awarded to him for his paper “Exploiting the properties of metagratings for designing rectangular waveguide mode converters”.

Congratulations, Vinay!

Liran selected as a finalist in the 2019 IEEE APS/URSI Student Paper Competition

Liran Biniashvili, M.Sc. student in the group, has been selected as a finalist in the prestigious Student Paper Competition of the 2019 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation and USNC-URSI Radio Science Meeting (APS/URSI 2019), held in Atlanta, GA, on July. His paper, entitled “Metagrating-Inspired Approach for Suppressing Reflections in H-Plane Waveguide Bends”, was evaluated to be in the top 5% of all the papers submitted to the competition (~200), and was presented in a dedicated poster session.

Congratulations, Liran!